Egg Retrieval Round 2

Today feels like a dream…literally because I was put under for part of it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I just can’t believe how good God is! For our egg retrieval and transfer, we have to drive to the Oklahoma City because that’s where they have the lab, or as I like to think where they hold on to our babies before transferring them back to me!

For those of you who like to visualize things here’s a picture of the hospital where our babies are!

img_8608

We spontaneously decided to drive down the night before because I had to be at myย retrievalย at 730 in the morning. We went shopping and ate a delicious (late) dinner! ย We ended up finding this super cool hotel called 21C Museum Hotel. If you’re ever in the OKC area and need a hotel I totally recommend it! It was a fun little distraction before our big day!

They had these cute penguins all over the hotel! This little guy was hanging out in the elevator when we opened it!

img_8593

The first floor of the hotel is an actual museum so it was really fun to walk around and look at everything!

img_8597

I just want to take a minute to talk about my mom also known as “Fancy!” She is such a rockstar and has completely supported us throughout this process. So naturally she came down to help lend a hand today! ๐Ÿ™‚

img_8592

This morning I woke up super anxious. It’s a lot of pressure realizing your families future is dependent on how your body responds. And it’s also a lot of pressure realizing we are in this position because of “me.” I’m the one with the so called “problems” holding us back from having a family and that puts such a strain on my heart knowing I can’t give Gannon what he so desperately longs for. I am so thankful Gannon has never once made this seem like a “me” problem and has always made it an “us.” He has never blamed or pointed a finger and has truly shown me Christ-like love in this entire situation.

ย So I wake up this morning and all these things cloud my mind. I realize Satan is trying to steal my joy from this day and so I open the bible app and read the scripture of the day. Which is Zephaniah 3:17 and it says, “For the Lord your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.”

I know I’ve said it a million times but infertility is SO hard. There are times I feel like God might not love because he knows how much I long to be a parent and he hasn’t given us our family yet. Or he might not delight in me because I question him. But then he ever so gently reminds me that is so wrong. And he shows me so many different ways that he loves me and cares for me so deeply. So much that he will take my fears away and live among me! And instantly all those thoughts were gone.

When we got to my retrieval we paid our balances and then they took me right back. I was so nervous this time because I knew all the pressure this round holds for us. They finally let Gannon and my mom come back and I totally lost it! But we all said a prayer, I wiped my tears away and I walked into the surgery room. I wasn’t even on the table for a minute before I was out. ย Thank goodness because there were like 8 people in that room!

Here are a few pictures from today! Our hearts are faith-filled and we are believing that today we became parents (again)! I know our two babies are celebrating with us in Heaven today! So naturally we had to be that couple and wear these shirts! We are just trying to embrace these awkward situations!

img_8622

img_8620

They had just put my IV so my sweet “Baby Daddy” put my socks on for me!

img_8624

Our lucky socks for today! Gannon had rooster or as I joked his lucky “cock” socks ๐Ÿ™‚ Hahaha, he was such a good sport wearing them and that shirt!

img_8625

My poor tummy was so bloated this morning. I definitely could not have waited another day before they took those eggs out!

img_8631

This was right before they took me back!

img_8635

The next thing I remember is waking up and finding my friend Amber in the “room” next to me! I say room because the only thing dividing us is a sheet! But I got to talk to her before she went back for her retrieval! My nurse wrote how many eggs they collected on my hand because it takes a while before you actually come to and realize what all happened!

But I found out they collected 22 eggs! Seriously guys, God is good. I never dreamed of retrieving more eggs than our last round! ย But we did by 2! After that Gannon and my mom came back and I had to finish up my second bag of liquids and then we were free to go!

img_8640

It’s a tradition, which I’m hoping a tradition that ends with this round because I don’t want to have to do another retrieval, but it’s a tradition to go to Empire Slice for pizza after it. Last time we even braved the outlet mall, but I was definitely more tired this time around so we came straight home.

img_8643

How stinking cute are these cookies my mom got us and our staff?! Cookiedoodle did a great job making them!!

img_8645

Tomorrow we will get the call letting us know how many fertilize. This part of the process is so huge but we are continuing to trust that God is in control. Please be praying for the perfect number of embryos to freeze. I don’t want to be greedy but my prayer this round is that we would get enough embryos to freeze so we can have multiple transfers. Last time we froze two and were only able to 1 transfer. Which resulted in having to do this whole process again. If we have more embryos it’s not as invasive or hard on my body and much less expensive.

I hope I’m able to sleep tonight because right now, as we SPEAK, God is creating OUR MIRACLES! I seriously could cry just thinking about it. He is designing their perfect little noses, the color of their eyes, whether they are a boy or girl, every tiny detail! Seriously,ย God is SO good! ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe God will give me a little glimpse of them in my dreams tonight!

We truly just wanted to say THANK YOU for all the prayers! We feel so blessed to know so many people are praying and supporting us during this time!

We will update you all tomorrow as soon as we find out how our babies are doing!

Xo,

Momma Brown ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

