Little Bumps in the Road

IMG_9227

This morning we had our final ultrasound before our egg retrieval on Wednesday. My ovaries were SO full of follicles. The largest follicles he measured was around 18 mm.  Dr B measured around 24 large follicles and that doesn’t include the smaller ones. He also had to check my heart and lungs since I will be going under anesthesia on Wednesday.

IMG_9212

Here are a few pictures of my ovaries. This is a picture of my left ovary.

IMG_9217

And here is a picture of my right ovary.

IMG_9215

You can see in the picture of the left how big that follicle is.

IMG_9221

I just got a call from my nurse about my blood test results and found out my Estrogen Levels were 4,700. Which is REALLY high. So that means we are going to have to freeze all the embryos and wait until my body can heal. We are going to have to wait until February or early March to do the embryo transfer. I am super disappointed, but I also realize that if I’m not healthy than my body won’t be ready to carry a baby and we could risk losing it. As sad as I am I have a peace about waiting. I’m so thankful they caught my overstimulation early on and hope that we can get it under control. Throughout this process, God has been teaching me patience and how each blessing comes at HIS perfect time. I know waiting these few months will pay off in the long haul.

Even though we are devastated we still have something to look forward too. My in loves planned a trip to the Cayman Islands the week before Christmas and we knew that if we were pregnant we weren’t going to be able to go. So even though we are sad about having to wait even longer at least we have an amazing vacation to look forward too. And goodness gracious does this girl need a vacation. The only problem is I am NOT ready to be in a bikini! 🙂

Tonight Gannon is going to be giving me his first official shot, the HCG trigger shot. Our nurse showed Gannon where exactly he needs to put it and even left a little surprise on my hip later!

FullSizeRender

Along with the HCG I will also be giving myself the Lupron shot. Tomorrow will be a shot free day, yayy!!

Wednesday morning at 10 am I will continue like planned and have our egg retrieval in OKC. That day we will find out how many eggs they were able to extract and then we will get follow up calls Thursday-Monday letting us know how many survived each stage.

On Wednesday evening, I will start back up on the Lupron shots and a new medicine called Bromocriptine for the next 2 weeks to help suppress everything. If everything goes as planned my next scheduled appointments will be November 18th and 23rd to see how well my body is suppressing. I will also be starting birth control at some point.

Today we paid our final bill to Dr B’s office and it was $2910.  Our next bills are due to Bennett Fertility Institute on Wednesday. We owe Bennett $5,333, Anesthesia is $400, the transfer is $460, and now that we have to freeze them that will cost $1,129.

FullSizeRender

 I am ready to get these little follicles out of my body and start the healing process. If you all can please be praying that my body heals like it needs to after the procedure. And that they are able to get lots of viable eggs so we can produce lots of little frozen embryo’s.

This whole IVF process has taught me so much grace about trusting in the Lords timing. And also realizing that he is ultimately in control of every situation. It’s easy to question why am I in this situation or why do I have to wait even longer, but instead of doing all that I’m going to focus on the positives. Espeically since it’s November and the month of Thanksgiving. I am thankful they caught my over stimulation early on before it got too out of control.  I’m thankful for a team of doctors who know what they are doing look out for what is best for me and the overall picture. And don’t just try and get me pregnant when my body isn’t ready for it.  I am thankful for my husband who has been at every doctors appointment, every shot, put up with all my crazy emotions, who is always there to pray for me and be my strength when I need it most. I am thankful for each and every one of you for the prayers and letters of encouragement. I am thankful for my family for cooking me meals when I don’t have the energy or just being there for me to vent to. And finally I am thankful to God for allowing Gannon and I to go through this because it has brought us closer to not only Him but to each other. And has made us realize that we can get through any situation with God on our side.

We love each and every one of you! Thank you for being our biggest cheerleaders on this crazy adventure to our precious Baby Browns!

Xo,

Kate 🙂


4 thoughts on “Little Bumps in the Road

  1. Hi Kate!

    I follow your awesome and brave blog and wanted to reach out to say thank you for being so amazing! It has been nice to read along with you knowing that someone else is going through exactly what we have (we have had the exact same IVF calendar!). We got the same news as you guys did today about the retrieval Wednesday but having to freeze the embryos and wait to have them put back. I just wanted to say I am so sorry and feel your pain. You are not alone. We were devastated to have to wait any longer as I’m sure you are as well. I hope this time goes fast for us both and our bodies can heal quickly☺️. I’ve been praying for you every day and will continue to!

    Prayers and good vibes being sent your way and best of luck with your retrieval Wednesday!

    Sarah Jabbour Sarah@shopscoobie.com 913-461-4861

    >

    1. Thank you so much Sarah!! Wow that’s so crazy we are on the same exact schedule. I’m so sorry to hear you guys will have to freeze all your embryos too, but I’m sure it will be a nice break letting our bodies heal and prepare for our babies. We will add you all in prayers and specially be thinking about you Wednesday! Thank you so much for reaching out! I can’t wait to see how your journey plays out. I know God has big plans in store for all us momma’s in waiting!😊

Leave a Reply

