The Start of Stims

I started my first stimulation shots yesterday! In the morning, I take the  Follistim shot which is super easy because I did that same shot when we tried Ovulation Induction in August.

IMG_8983

IMG_8987

It was the evening shots that I was concerned about. Around 9 pm, I started getting all my medicine out. Up until that point,  I never pulled out any of the shots to make sure I had all the right supplies. Which was not smart of me! About 5 minutes into looking at everything I got in a huge panic because I thought they had forgotten to send me the smaller needles for the menopur shot. I was freaking out that I was going to have to use the huge needle that was originally sent on the shot.  I was ready to text my nurse when Gannon finally found them in the bottom of the bag of needles. Phew! Once that little panic session was over it was time to mix up the Menopur shot.

IMG_9004

IMG_9007

You take 1 ml of the sodium for 2 bottles of the powder. You have to slowly mix the sodium and powder together all while making sure you don’t mix them too fast and make them foam up ruining the medicine.

IMG_9010

IMG_9012

Once the Menopur shot was ready it was time for me to get the Lupron one together. I’ve been taking the Lupron shot for almost 2 weeks now so that was is super easy to get ready!

IMG_9016

Because I got so flustered about not having the right needles I totally forgot that the Menopur shot hurts when the medicine goes in. So it caught me a little off-guard and I had a little moment with a few tears! It was the first time I was halfway through putting the medicine in that I wanted to just stop and take it out! I’m going to try and give it to myself one more time tonight and if I have another little moment that shot may become the hubby’s job!

So far I feel pretty good! I can feel myself starting to “puff” up. My eyes and fingers seem a little puffy and I can definitely feel my ovaries starting to work. The hormone headaches are definitely getting worse but not until later in the day.  Nothing is too unbearable by any means! I think the hardest part right now is trying to explain how I’m feeling to Gannon. He wants to be there for me as much as possible but to him nothing physically is changing. So it’s hard for him to relate or understand. But I am so thankful for his constant support! I know if he could he would be doing this for me!

Our next scheduled appointment is for this Thursday, November 5th at 9:30. I will be getting my blood taken to check my levels and have an ultrasound to see how my body is responding to the medicine. If you all could please be praying that my body does exactly what it needs to be doing.  And that I would be producing lots of little follicles and we have a lot of viable eggs on the day of our retrieval! I know God has a plan for us and I just have to continue to have peace that He is in control.  Thank you all for your continued prayers and support! I know I say it all the time, but Gannon and I feel each and every prayer and really wouldn’t be where we are without them!

Hope you all have a fabulous week!!

Xo,

Kate


12 thoughts on “The Start of Stims

  1. I am so glad to have came across your blog! I am on Lupron, Follistim and Menopur, align with a slew of other pills. To see someone doing the same thing really helps.
    Blessings and prayers
    -KQueen

    1. Yay I’m so glad this was able to help you! Please let me know if you have any questions!! I am actually preparing for my FET now!! Best of luck to you and your family! I will be praying for nothing but success!! 💗

  2. I actually have a TON of questions. It’s hard to find someone on close to the same meds as you! So when did they give you an ultrasound and get eggs? How many days stim were you at? I’m on to my second (well third if you count baseline) ultrasound as of tomorrow. What is your diagnosis? Can you name some good uplifting songs or verses to listen to or read? I’m so excited for you to be close to FET!
    -KQueen

    1. It’s so hard!! Do you have facebook? I joined the group the IVF Support page and it’s women going through IVF all over the world! It’s a great place to ask questions and just honestly learn! Ok so I started my Stims on November 1st. And took them for 10 days. I actually responded really well to the medicine​e and they had to significally lower my dosage and I stopped taking Menopur partly through. But everyone’s body is different! I started ultrasounds before stims and then once I actually started I believe I went in on day 5, 7 and 9 of the stims! And then my egg retrieval​ was on Nov 11! I have endometriosis​, PCOS and I had a subseptate uterus that was repaired last year. Lauren Daigle​ is my absolute favorite artist right now! I listen to her on repeat! Trust is probably the best song to listen to right now! I overstimulated so we had to freeze our two embryos. So I am doing a FET Feb 18th! Which I have a huge peace about because it has given my body time to heal and prepare! I would say the biggest advice I can give during this process is to just trust the doctors and be patient. Everyone’s body responds differently and you have to just go with the flow. I was devastated​ when I found out we had to freeze our babies, but it ended up being a huge blessing. I also was heartbroken we only had 2 viable embryos at the end of it all but I know God has a plan for those two. Trust in the Lord, he has a plan! And it’s greater than we could ever imagine! I hope this helps! Let me know if you have anything else you want me to answer 🙂 Also start drinking a LOT of Gatorade​!! It helps prevent OHSS (overstimulation)!! And eat salty food! This is the time to eat those french fries and salty foods! The headaches can become instense I would sugggest taking Tylenol. I was stubborn and tried not to take anything but it’s not worth it! Prepare to be bloated…for a while! As crazy as this seems it will be SO worth it in the end when we are holding our little miracles! Praying for you sweet girl! Oh and listen to Captain by Hillsong! Proverbs 19:21, “You make many plans, but the Lord’s purpose will prevail.”

      1. I couldn’t find the page, could you link it per chance? Also I’ve really been praying and listening to the song and artist you’ve recommended!! I am in love! So inspiring!

      2. I’m hormonal for sure, I was holding the emotions in Til my last appointment. My husband is sleeping with one eye open I think lol. Still feel “squishy and crampy”, I’m so excited for you!! Just tell your husband to ignore the items flying around the house lol and thankyou!!

      3. I sent my request to the IVF support page! Thankyou again! Me too, I just wish it all went as planned. Grow follicles grow!! 😊

Leave a Reply

