Calm Before the Storm

A week from today I start my first shots for IVF! I feel like these past two weeks we’ve been preparing for the arrival of our first born child (which I guess I kind of am) with all the things getting checked off our “To Do List.”  In the past 2 weeks I’ve gone to the dentist, had my yearly dermatologist mole check, had my body aligned at the chiropractor, tomorrow I have my first acupuncture appointment, met with our tax guy, taken both of our cars in for oil changes and had my hair done! I feel like I’m preparing for a marathon! Maybe the IVF Marathon 🙂 But in all reality I’ve just wanted to get some things checked off before the chaos hits and we are busy making babies! I can now say I am ready to get this process started!

Last week Gannon had to give another “deposit”….ok i’ll say it sperm sample to make sure nothing has changed from his rock star swimmers he had from the last time they checked. We haven’t heard back so I’m assuming that is a good thing. It was also great practice because our nurse can’t stress enough how he HAS TO give his sample the same time I’m getting my eggs retrieved.  I’m like don’t put any more pressure on the poor guy than he already has!! 🙂 If for some reason his sperm isn’t as viable as they need to be the day of they can perform ICSI, where they inject the sperm directly into my egg. So we have options just in case!

A sweet friend who has gone through IVF told me about a facebook page called IVF Support and I recently joined it. It has been INCREDIBLE to see the community around the world of women praying for, reaching out and encouraging one another through their own IVF journey. And it’s amazing to know that someone out in this huge world is experiencing the same thing you are, at the same exact time. If you or anyone you know is going through IVF please tell them about this site. It has been amazing to cry with people who I don’t even know about their successes with IVF. It’s also making me realize that it’s a large possibility that twins could definitely be in our future. I’m telling you EVERY day people post pictures that they are pregnant with twins or even triplets! It’s just such an incredible source of encouragement as well as a place to ask questions!

So for my last week before we start IVF I’m just going to (try) and sit back and relax before our lives get turned upside down and we hopefully get to experience the miracle of pregnancy. As weird as it sounds I’m really excited to experience IVF and learn about a  nontraditional way for us to become pregnant. I’m just so thankful we have the option to do this. And I feel a sense of peace that God is in control and has a plan for us.

Lamentations 3:25, “The Lord is good to those whose hope is in Him, to the one who seeks Him.

Also my bestie, Jaji, sent me this song the other day and it was too good not to share! Hope you all have a blessed day!

Xo,

Kate 🙂


One thought on “Calm Before the Storm

Leave a Reply

