Our IVF Timeline

Yesterday we had an appointment with Dr B to have a “mock transfer” and to measure the size of my cervix and uterus. Yes, it was as unpleasant as it sounds! I went in thinking I was just going to have a normal vaginal ultrasound, but boy was I wrong! The mock transfer was done to see how long the catheter needs to be to implant those precious little embryos into my uterus. At one point, I had the speculum, catheter and vaginal ultrasound all in at the same time. All I can say is being a girl sucks at times! But at least now I know what to expect on our actual transfer day.

This was my smiling face before I found out what we were going to have to do!

IMG_7725

And this was my face when I realized we had to do a mock transfer!

IMG_7727

Gannon FINALLY had to get something done too! We actually both had to give 3 vials of blood to check our blood type, for HIV and Hepatitis.  I was a little too excited for the poor guy. But it’s about time…am I right?! He also has to go in within the next week and give another sperm sample to make sure nothing has changed from the last time he gave one.  We also had to get on an antibiotic to make sure our bodies are as clean as they can be before we start the whole process.

IMG_7721

IMG_7723

Here is our official IVF timeline: 

  • October 21st – I will begin my Lupron Injections which will suppress my ovaries as much as they can. That is the same medicine I took that put me in menopause. But these injections will be much smaller dosages and I will take them daily.
  • October 23rd – I will take my last birth control…. YAYYYY!!
  • October 28th – I go in to get an ultrasound that will show how suppressed my ovaries are and get my blood taken. This is the day we have to bring all our consent forms.
  • November 1st – I start my stimulation shots and continue the Lupron shots.
  • November 5th, 7th and 9th –  I will go in for an ultrasound to monitor how my body is responding to the medicine and get my blood taken.
  • November 9th –  I will get my trigger shot, take my last Lupron injection, stop my hormone injections and start an antibiotic.
  • November 11th – We drive to OKC for my egg retrieval! I will be put under anesthesia (thank goodness) and the procedure should only take about an hour.  While my procedure is being done Gannon will have to give his “deposit!” That day I will start taking daily Progesterone Injections for the next 4 days.
  • November 12th-15th –  The people in the lab will be working hard and hopefully creating our precious miracle babies. On the 12th, we will find out how many actual embryos we have.
  • November 16th – THE EMBRYO TRANSFER IN OKC!!!!! We will be transferring the 2 strongest Embryos. Which could mean a high possibility of multiples. I will be awake for this and Gannon will get to be in the room! We will get to watch those precious miracle babies be put into my uterus. I will be on bed rest for the next 3 days hoping and praying those little miracles implant on my uterus and start growing! But let’s be honest i’m going to be a nervous wreck and trying to take it easy until my pregnancy test.
  • November 19th – I go in for a Serum Progesterone blood test. To make sure my body is progressing and those little miracles are maturing!
  • Thanksgiving Week – We will go in for a blood test and by the grace of Jesus we will HOPEFULLY find out we are pregnant!

The total cost of IVF is around $16,000 and here is a little breakdown of it all:

  • $4000-$5000 – For the medication. Which includes Lupron, Antagon, Cetrotide, Menopur, Follitism, Pregnyl, and Progesterone injections.
  • $1500 – Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection or ICSI. This is where they inject the sperm directly into the egg to fertilize it.  Luckily Gannon has “super strong swimmers” as we have heard several times at the Dr Office (we are both pretty proud, haha) so we hopefully will not have to do this. Which would  save us a little money! Instead of doing ICSI they will put my egg in an incubator with about 1 million of Gannon’s sperm and let them do its course more naturally. If for some reason the sperm aren’t as viable the day of this procedure they can perform ICSI.
  • $400 – Goes to the Anesthesia for the egg retrieval.  I am more than happy to not be awake for this procedure! I made the mistake of watching a youtube video of this process and i’m a little scared!
  • $8,000 – $10,000 – Goes directly to Dr B for the office visits, ultrasounds, lab tests, egg retrieval, creating the embryos, surgery center, genetic testing, any blood work that needs to be taken and anything else they have to do. I’m sure i’m forgetting a lot! As Gannon said in our consultation, (obviously joking) “Well there goes my country club membership for the year!”
  • $50 Monthly Fee – Is for storing our extra frozen embryos. We have about 5 years to decide what we are going to do with them. We even have to sign something saying what would happen to our embryos in the event of one or both of us dying or if we get a divorce. It’s unbelievable all the paperwork and options we have to consider. To transfer a frozen embryo the cost is only about $3,800 which is significantly cheaper than doing the whole process over again!

Here is a picture of us leaving with our pile of paperwork we have to fill out/sign and bring back on October 28th.

IMG_7732

Overall, I have a huge amount of peace about all of it. I feel like we are exactly where God wants us to be. Proverbs 19:21, “You make many plans, but the Lord’s purpose will prevail.” Honestly I’m excited to get it all started and see this whole miracle process happen. I’m still just so amazed by modern technology. It’s crazy to think that 38 years ago we most likely wouldn’t have been able to get pregnant.  The first successful IVF baby was born in 1978 and since then now more than 5 Million babies have been born through IVF. I am just so thankful we even have this as an option.

In these next few weeks, if you all could please join us in prayer about a few specific things.  For Gannon and I to continue to cling to God and each other during this stressful time. That each process would go smoothly and we wouldn’t have any complications. For God to be guiding the doctors, lab workers, and nurses during each process. That IVF would work and God would give us our miracle baby. That Gannon and I would remain healthy and make the most of our experience. And most of all that God would continue to use us during this time.

And for my love of music. I had to share this song. I love the lyrics say, “I am no longer a slave to fear, I am a child of God.” I know God is in complete control of our journey and I won’t allow satan to have the satisfaction of letting fear creep into my mind. I know God wants us to have a baby as much as we do. Jeremiah 29:11, “ For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Hope you all are having a blessed week!

Xo,

Kate 🙂


4 thoughts on “Our IVF Timeline

  1. We went in for IVF class yesterday and my husband found out he had to take antibiotics before the transfer and objected lol I looked at him like really?! You literally don’t have to go through any of the crap we do 😉 Hopefully your hubs didn’t cause a fuss about giving blood. Best of luck with your upcoming cycle!! My lupron injections start in less than 10 days and I do the mock on Monday- oh boy not looking forward to that now that I have read this!

    1. Oh goodness if our husbands had to go through what we did there would be far less children in the world! And I promise it’s not as bad as it seems! You will do fine! Just think about the end result and it will totally be worth it! Let me know if you have nay questions! ☺️

Leave a Reply

