Consultation Appointment

IMG_7154

Yesterday we had our consultation with Dr B. He sat across from his big desk and confirmed what I knew in my heart already, we were going to have to do IVF. He pulled out the pictures from my surgery last August and once again told me how severe my Endometriosis is. He mentioned how surprised he was that my tubes were open during my HCG test since they were completely blocked before our Lupron shots.  Dr B went over with us the risks of IVF which can include multiples, premature delivery, the possibility of it not working and the cost because Lord knows it’s not cheap. I sat across from his desk thinking am I old enough to make these decisions?

During the appointment, Dr B went over why he didn’t think it would be a good idea to try the Ovulation Induction process again. He said that each time we stimulate my ovaries we are allowing the Endo to grow back. So if we went through this process say two more times we would most likely not be pregnant and have to go through the whole process of Lupron shots again.  He also mentioned how people can only take so much disappointment so he wants to keep that into consideration when trying different methods. Honestly at this point I am just trusting in Dr B’s advice and doing what he thinks is best for our situation.

Our goal right now is to suppress my ovaries as much as we possibly can. They upped my dosage of Metformin and I will continue to take my Birth control pill for the next few weeks. The longer they suppress my ovaries the better chance they have at retrieving more viable eggs. The goal is to get the actual IVF process started by the end of September, early October. And by the grace of God be pregnant by Thanksgiving!

This is going to be a LONG process in which I’m sure we will have many emotions. So we ask our prayer warriors to please be praying with us. For wisdom, patience, understanding, strength and financial peace.

Isaiah 40:31, “But those who hope in the lord will renew their strength, they will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

Xo,

Kate 🙂


Leave a Reply

