Letter to our Future Children

I’ve had this post written for a while now and feel like it’s finally the right time to share! I can’t help but anticipate our news Monday and dream about all the things I look forward to eventually doing with our precious children. ย So here it is ๐Ÿ™‚

One day, when you are finally reading this letter I hope you realize how much your Daddy and I have prayed and longed to finally be your parents. Many obstacles were thrown our way and we could have easily given up, but we knew that it wasn’t an option for us. No obstacle would be too big for us to make one of our biggest dreams come true, becoming parents. Before your Daddy and I even met we were praying for you. As we began our journey into parenthood, we would have never imagined how difficult this whole process would be. One of the biggest things your Daddy and I want you to know is that no matter how big your dream is, how unattainable it may seem, never give up. God gives us a purpose in our life for a reason. Some seasons may seem more difficult than others, but we must not feel sorry for ourselves. We just have to continue to trust in God and know he has a plan for us. And while we are in this waiting period I wanted to write a letter to you so that you can know that you were created out of so much love and anticipation.

To my future precious children,

I can’t wait to take that pregnancy test and finally be able to tell your daddy that I am pregnant and to take in that first initial feeling of being a mommy.

I can’t wait until our first ultrasound when I get to hear your beautiful heartbeat.

I can’t wait to feel the first tiny flutters in my belly as you grow big and strong inside of me.

I can’t wait to find out if you are going to be a handsome boy like your daddy or a beautiful girl like me.

I can’t wait to tell you the story about how your daddy swept me off my feet and continues to make me fall in love with him daily.

I can’t wait to show you my blog and let you read how much we prayed and longed to someday be your parents.

I can’t wait to rock you to sleep and snuggle you all night because I can’t stand the thought of putting you down.

I can’t wait to have “sick” days with you just because I can’t bare leaving you at school all day long.

I can’t wait to have a messy house because we were too busy creating memories to clean up.

I can’t wait to decorate your little nursery or play dress up with you in all your tiny new clothes.

I can’t wait to hear those tiny foot steps upstairs and to know our home is finally filled with so much love.

I can’t wait to make you smell so fresh after a bath or put lotion on your soft little skin.

I can’t wait to teach you about the Lord and to let you know how much your Heavenly Father loves you.

I can’t wait to look back in my rear view mirror and see your tiny face sleeping or to hear those little coo’s and caw’s.

I can’t wait to wake up Sunday morning and get you ready for church.

I can’t wait to see you crawl for the first time or to hear your first words.

I can’t wait to show you what real love looks like and let your daddy and I be an example to you.

I can’t wait to hear you call me mommy and to know that in that moment I am the most important person in the world.

I can’t wait to have our nightly prayer andย read bible verses to you.

I can’t wait to take you to church and teach you about the Lord.

I can’t wait to have picnics on Saturday’s or to finally be that soccer or cheerleader mom.

I can’t wait to watch your daddy teach you to drive because we all know you can’t take after your mommies driving.

I can’t wait to help you get ready for your first date and to watch you mature into a beautiful young adult.

I can’t wait to be your first love and constant in your life.

I can’t wait to look into your eyes and know that you were created out of love with so many hopes and dreams for the future.

I can’t wait to wake you up with kisses and back scratches just like my mom did for me.

I can’t wait to watch you run down the stairs Christmas morning and to see the excitement on your face.

I can’t wait until your first day of Kindergarten, Middle School, High School and someday College although I may be crying after each time I drop you off.

I can’t wait to watch you fall in love and create a life of your own.

I promise to let you be your own person. To have your own goals and desires. I just pray you follow God’s plan for you in your life.ย I pray that you move mountains by your faith and crumble any walls satan may try to put up around you. I want you to know that you were wanted, anticipated, prayed for and ours before we ever even knew you.

But until I can have all these things I will continue to trust in the Lord and know someday my Father will give me all the things I long for because I know he loves me as much as I will already love you.

Good things come to those who wait.

Proverbs 22:6,ย  “Train up a child in the way he should go;ย even when he is old he will not depart from it.”

Love,

Your anxiously awaiting Mommy


2 thoughts on “Letter to our Future Children

Leave a Reply

