More waiting…

Yesterday we had my Ultrasound appointment to check and see if my ovaries were suppressed enough to start the FSH shot.  It’s crazy to think that July 8th will be exactly one year from our first visit to see Dr B. We sat in those same exact seats with no idea the long fertility journey we had ahead of us.

This is a picture of us from last year! This picture makes me laugh because we had NO idea how much our worlds were going to be turned upside down. Looking back a year later I can say with confidence we are spiritually, emotionally and physically stronger than we ever could have imagined. I am so thankful for my precious husband and wouldn’t want to experience these little bumps in the road with anyone else!

IMG_6569

This was our picture from yesterday. We definitely seem a little more calm in this one! One thing i’ve learned in our journey is that for the most part nothing goes as planned. You just have to sit back and let God take the driver seat and hold on with each curve in life. Isaiah 58:11 says, “The LORD will guide you continually, giving you water when you are dry and restoring your strength. You will be like a well-watered garden, like an ever-flowing spring.” I love this passage because it says He guides us CONTINUALLY and will always be there in difficult times to restore our strength. The key in that passage is that He won’t ever guide us down a difficult path alone, He is always there to lift us up and be our biggest cheerleader.

IMG_5429

During our ultrasound I got to see my normal looking uterus…yay!!! It got me excited to think that someday I will look at that same ultrasound screen and get to see our precious miracle baby. Yesterday we were able to see my ovaries and endometrium lining. My ovaries still had some cysts on them, but Dr B didn’t seem too concerned about it. When he showed me my endometrium lining he said it wasn’t quite at the right thickness it needed to be to achieve a healthy pregnancy.  The endometriam layer is where embryo implantation takes place and the embryo gets nourished by its blood supply. And if it’s not a certain thickness the embryo can’t implant and the whole process would be a failure. It truly fascinates me how many moving parts there are in achieving a successful pregnancy. Each new life is an absolute miracle. After looking everything over he decided I needed to let my ovaries suppress a little longer so I have to take my birth control pill for 2 more weeks. My next appointment is scheduled for July 13th. At this appointment we are prayerful everything in my ultrasound will look ok and they will teach me how to give myself the FSH shot (which is the natural hormone that stimulates an egg or follicle to develop and mature). Ekk i’m a little nervous about giving myself a shot everyday! Depending on how my body responds to those I could be on them for 10 or more days and once my follicles (eggs) are mature enough I will take the trigger shot that will make the eggs release and hopefully get fertilized by sperm. With each process I am learning every thing takes a lot  LONGER than you anticipate…I just have to continue to trust in God’s plan and know it will all workout the way its suppose to!

Now it’s just time to relax and enjoy my last few weeks (hopefully) not being pregnant! Hope everyone has a fun and safe 4th of July!


Leave a Reply

