Controlled Ovarian Hyperstimulation

Monday morning I called Dr. B’s office because I still had not started my cycle and I was getting negative pregnancy test results. I was about 6 days late, but that is pretty normal for my cycle before all our treatments. Yesterday the nurse called me and said they were anticipating that my cycle still might not be normal and gave me two options. I could wait out this cycle and see how many days it takes to finally start and take another chance of not actually ovulating. Doing this I could risk allowing my endometriosis to flair back up. Or I could get a progesterone shot to jumpstart my cycle and start Controlled Ovarian Hyperstimulation this month. We decided to do this and let me just say boy that progesterone shot hurts! Once my cycle starts we are going to start the fertility medication with an FSH shot and this helps stimulate my ovaries to produce follicles and induces ovulation. This can sometimes lead to multiple follicles being produced in my ovaries and could lead to multiples…which at this point bring it on! 🙂 Once my focciclies are mature we will start the HCG trigger shots. The trigger shots help make sure the egg reaches full maturation and I should ovulate within 36-46 hours after the shot. Gannon will definitely have to give these to me! I’m a little scared about them. Since Gannon doesn’t have a low sperm count after my trigger shot we will be able to try naturally. But for some this is when they will start the Insemination process. During this process they will be monitoring me by Ultrasound and Blood work to make sure my body is responding to the medication and to check the size of the follicles. Feeling a little overwhelmed?! Ya, me too!

 At this point we are just waiting for my cycle to start and once it does this whole process will be about 2 weeks and around $2500. Which at this point is so much cheaper than IVF. We just ask that you all please be praying that we are making the right decisions in all of this. I known this whole time God has a plan for us and i’m continuing to seek his face and rest assured that he will guide us. It’s just hard because I honestly wasn’t anticipating having to start another “fertility treatment” and it caught us a little off guard. I pray that this a time that Gannon and I can continue to grow in our marriage and a process that will only bring us together. Thank you guys so much for your love and support. Sometimes it’s hard to be so open about all our struggles, but I know the reward of constant prayers make it totally worth it!

Psalm 56:3, “When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.”

Had to share this song…it’s one of my favorites right now 🙂

Xo,

 Kate


2 thoughts on “Controlled Ovarian Hyperstimulation

  1. Kate, I know we haven’t “officially” met but I am following your journey through your blog & want you to know I am praying for you and Gannon. You have such a positive attitude about all of this!

Leave a Reply

