Goodbye Menopause

IMG_1809

On Monday we had our appointment to see Dr B.  I had been dreaming of that day for 6 months anticipating the “next step” in this process. Since I have been getting the shots every month I don’t actually see Dr B that often, just the nurses (which is great because they are the sweetest). The first thing Dr B said walking into my room was, “Boy I forgot what a project you were.” He was looking over my pictures from the surgery I had back in August and talking about how severe my endometriosis was.  Dr B showed me a picture of my bladder and said that sometimes when there is that much endo covering different organs he has to extend the Lupron shots for a few more months. Obviously, that was not something I wanted to hear or ever anticipated. Which in our situation what actually ever is? Of course, my next question was if that is the case can we not just move forward with IVF and skip that step all together. I mean just give me a baby already 🙂 But he told me that they don’t typically do that because in order for IVF to be successful we need to get rid of as much endo as possible. The good thing is for now we don’t have to worry about that…which sounds much more easy than it actually is! It completely crushed my spirits thinking we may have to do another round, but I know God has a plan for us.  Luckily my body responded really well to the shots and I have hope and we are praying we are done with the Lupron shots…FOREVER!

On a positive note I got started back on birth control. I will be taking that for the next 2 months to help restart my system and wake it up out of menopause!! Yippee! Goodbye hot flashes, night sweats, mood swings, weight gain, and a few other unmentionables 🙂 I hope I do not have to experience that for at least another 25-30 years!

IMG_1811

In April, we go back to the doctor where they will {finally} do a scan to see if the surgery to repair my uterus was successful. At the appointment they will look at my uterus to make sure it healed properly, make sure there isn’t major scar tissue, and check to make sure my tubes opened up. The endo had completely blocked them before, but we are hopeful that with the lupron shots they were able to open. And the good news is that even if one tube opens up and everything else looks good then Gannon and I will be able to try naturally for a few months.

If you all would please be praying that God gives us peace and guidance with all the upcoming news and decisions we are going to have to make. Just like it says in Joshua 1:9, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Praise the Lord that he is with us no matter what situation we are in and we will cling to that hope.

And for tradition I have to throw in a cute picture of the hubs…he makes my heart so happy!

IMG_1804

Thank you all for love and support and for being on this journey with us! We are forever grateful!

Xo,

Kate 🙂


Leave a Reply

