It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Decorating for Christmas is one of my favorite things to do! After a minor panic attack (or two) we decided to buy our very first Christmas tree together. Don’t get me wrong I love hand-me downs. Especially from my mom because she will use them one year and buy something else. We actually had 2 different trees from my parents. One of them was from 1980 and had about 500 different pieces that went to it and not to mention the fact that it shed everywhere. And on the other one had lights didn’t work in the middle part and I am just way to OCD and lazy to fix it πŸ™‚ Plus, there’s just something about getting a fresh new tree. I so wish I could buy a real tree but unfortunately I am allergic to them. Boo for asthma.

IMG_0185

Every year growing up my Mimi and Papa gave us a nutcracker. This is by far my favorite one from all of them!

IMG_0204

I got these cute little chalkboard labels off veryjane.com

IMG_0203

IMG_0180

IMG_0181

I was so excited to finally write on my chalkboard wall and break it in!

IMG_0183

IMG_0190

My sweet little pups were following me around trying to sneak in as many pictures as possible.

IMG_0195-1

IMG_0193-1

IMG_0200

IMG_0205

Every year I like to make some sort of little treat to give our family and friends. This year I went with peppermint bark which is super quick and easy. I wanted to share the recipe I used.

There are a couple ways you can make them. For this recipe I layered milk and white chocolate:

IMG_0286

Ingredients:

2 cups milk chocolate chips

2 cups white chocolate chips

1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract

Crushed candy canes or I used the bag of Andes Peppermint Crunch

Directions:

1. Line parchment paper on baking sheet

2. Melt milk chocolate for 1 minute on 50% power

3. Pour melted chocolate on baking sheet, level it out and put it in the refrigerator for around 20 minutes or until it hardens.

4. Melt white chocolate and mix in the 1/2 teaspoon of peppermint extract.

5. Pour white chocolate over the milk chocolate layer.

6. Sprinkle candy cane crunch over the top

7. Put back into fridge for about 30 minutes or until it is completely hardened.

8. Finally break it up with a knife

9. Enjoy πŸ™‚

I also decided to make it with just white chocolate. For this recipe I melted the white chocolate, mixed in the 1/2 teaspoon of peppermint extract, mixed in some of the peppermint crunch and finally layered the top with more peppermint. This one is so much easier and only takes about 5 minutes to make. It’s a great little dessert to make in a hurry.

IMG_0291

You can also use food coloring if you want to make it a different color!

IMG_0292

Wrap it up in a cute little container and voila you have a cute little gift anyone would be sure to love!

IMG_0297

I hope you all have a very Merry Christmas and even happier New Year!

Xo,

Kate πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

