The long journey ahead…

Today we had my Post-Op appointment. We got to talk to Dr. B about how the surgery went and what he found as well as talk about what’s next. Dr. B said that my endo is the worse case scenario. He said it is covering not just my uterus, but ovaries, bladder, gallbladder, and anything else it can cling on to. It was surreal seeing the pictures of it everywhere. He also said that since my septum was so large that it really made the endo much worse. And that I do in fact have PCOS.

So it looks like my next steps are to start taking metformin which will help get rid of the cysts on my ovaries for the PCOS. Metformin decreases the level of androgen’s produced by the ovaries and adrenal glands and helps the body use insulin. I’m starting that medicine tonight. Next Wednesday I am going to start getting a Lupron Shot, every 4 weeks for the next 6 months. Lupron is a hormonal treatment that shuts down the pituitary gland and reduces the amount of estrogen in a woman’s system. Since endometriosis feeds off of estrogen the medicine should help to shrink any growth. I always teased my mom saying she was going through menopause (which she wasn’t) and it looks like I will actually be experiencing parts of it before her! I guess serves me right! πŸ™‚

So after taking the shots for 6 months I will be put back on birth control to help jump start my cycles again. During that time I will be getting an X Rays to see if my uterus healed properly,Β  see if my tubes opened up and to make sure I don’t haveΒ  too much scar tissue. If they open up Gannon and I can start trying to get pregnant naturally. If they do not then we will start to explore Invitro. Our prayers for now will be that I don’t have any major side effects from the metformin or Lupron and that it will help decrease my endo without any scar tissues as well as open up my tubes.

I am just thankful that we do have the technology to allow me to even be on a road towards future babies. It is terrifying to think that if this happened probably 50 years ago I just wouldn’t be able to have children.Β  So for now, I am going to continue to trust in God and know that he is in control. I will take each day as they come and continue to see the best in each situation. It’s hard to think that our time line is at least 9 months away from even being able to start trying again. But Gannon and I have already put 9 months of our hearts into trying without any results so now we know we are finally on the upward slope to the possibility of children. For now I am going to enjoy my husband while I have him all to myself and try and check some more things off our bucket list! And maybe I can convince him we need to squeeze another trip in πŸ™‚ Thanks again for everyone involved in our journey to parenthood. We really couldn’t do this without all the prayers and support from you all!

These are just some encouraging bible verses that helped me today and I wanted to share!

Psalm 50:15 “Pray to me in time of trouble.Β  I will rescue you, and you will honor me.”

Isaiah 41:10 “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Psalm 16:18 “I have set the LORD always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.”

Finally, I wanted to take a moment to brag about this guy! I am so thankful for his unconditional love and support! He has been there for me every step of the way and I am just so so grateful! He really is the best!

photo-2

Xo,

Kate πŸ™‚


2 thoughts on “The long journey ahead…

  1. Thinking of you all through this challenge, but hearing all that your Dr is doing, I have great hope that there are babies in your future. After working as an OB/Gyn nurse for years, I have seen a lot of success with the Metformin, Lupron treatments. Prayer and your positive attitude will make all of this an unstoppable combination.

    1. Thank you so much, Lisa! I know in God’s perfect timing we will have our babies. I never realized you worked in the OB/Gyn field, but that is very encouraging!! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

