Surgery

So surgery prep was definitely the worst part. This drink is no joke! Not only is it nasty but it’s a mind over matter situation. My mind defiantly lost. I couldn’t drink all of it! So for anyone who has done this or has to in the future I have sympathy for you!

photo 1-8

Thank goodness my birch box came in to distract me!

photo 2-8

So checking into the hosptial they give you a beeper so anytime they needed me before surgery or Gannon during they could just beep him! It’s pretty convenient!

photo 1-3

I had to get to the hospital at 6:15 so I told my family they could come around 6:45 but as soon as I got there they took me back and had me change into my gown.

photo 1-10

I was kinda worried I wasn’t going to be able to see everyone before they took me back but they slowly started to trickle in!

photo 2-4

photo 5

photo 1-4

It was so nice having everyone in there with me to have a prayer and also keep the energy levels high!

photo 1-5

photo 2-10

We had such a great support team at the hospital!

photo 5-3

photo 3-8

photo 4-3

Leading up to my surgery it has been amazing seeing how much God was with me during that time.ย  Anytime I started to feel anxious or my mind started wandering I would pull out my bible and start praying. God gave me SO much peace. I woke up yesterday like I was just going to work,not a worry in the world. My devotional yesterday could not of been more perfect for me it said: “Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.” Psalm 62:8 I really don’t know how people can go through a stressful time and not have the Lord on their side. I couldn’t of done it without him.

I had to walk back to the room where the surgery took place, without any medicine! It was such a surreal feeling seeing the room and getting settled on the table where it was all going to take place! But I had a great team surrounding me who were very comforting.

So my surgery was only suppose to take about 1 hour and 45 minutes but it ended up taking around 3 hours. When he went in to fix my septum he found a polyp he had to take out as well. Luckily he was able to make the shape of my uterus more normal. But he did say that since he had to clip those area’s to make it pop up that it would be too weak for me to delivery a baby naturally.

As far as my endometriosis goes it was actually a lot worse than he thought. There is a scale of 1 to 4 with endo. 1 being the best case scenario and not having very much to 4 being the worse. I have stage 4. He was able to burn off some of the bigger places but he told Gannon that it was covering all my organs and making me very inflamed. It is also completely blocking my tubes and covering my ovaries. So as far as that goes it’s going to be a long road to recovery. Our post op appointment is on the 27th so we will find out exactly where we go from here.

After the surgery I could NOT keep myself awake! I kept hearing the nurse asking me all these questions but I just could not keep my eyes open! It was such a weird feeling. Thank goodness I had my husband there to take some really great pictures of me during my moment of weakness..haha NOT! But I was in a lot of pain and really struggling to come back to reality. The worst part was having to get up and get dressed. Thank goodness I have such a strong husband! I really couldn’t of done it without him.

photo 1-9

Once I finally came back to reality we got to leave! Thank goodness for outpatient surgery! All the nurses yesterday were amazing! They all went above and beyond for me and it made the whole process that much easier. It also helped that the main nurse in my surgery was a sweet friend of mine from high school’s, mom! There’s nothing better than having a momma there taking care of you!

photo 4-6

Finally, I just wanted to take a moment to say thank you all so much for all the prayers, text, scriptures, encouragement, dinners and gorgeous flowers you all sent! We are overwhelmed with the love and support from each and every one of you! Gannon and I could never say thank you enough! We love you all!

photo 3-7

photo 1-7

photo 2-7

Psalm 30:2 “LORD my God, I called to you for help, and you healed me.

Exodus 14:14 “The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

Xo,

Kate ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

