How to Install Wall Paneling

Today I want to explain how we installed wall Paneling. Pinterest…I mean can we talk about how great that site is for a moment?! For me it has literally saved my life in more ways than one. For instance, Gannon now thinks that I can actually cook because I followed a very simple recipe on there…shhh πŸ™‚ But really I love that site because it gives me so many ideas for our home. I found this picture on there and became obsessed…

photo

I immediately knew that we had to do this in a room in our home. So after much deliberation we decided to try it out in the dining room. Here is what the room looked like before.

photo 1

Bless this little dining rooms heart it really needed some love!Β  The post on pinterest showed them installing the paneling on a smooth non textured wall. Unfortunately we were not that lucky. We first had to take down the wallpaper border and railing. After that Gannon tried sanding the texture off the wall…

photo 1

photo 2

photo 5

All I have to say is that was a HUGE MESS. Once we realized that was not going to workout we decided to buy quarter inch drywall and put it around the walls where the paneling detail goes.

photo 3

Putting the drywall up was pretty simple.

photo 2

photo 1

photo 3

Sweet Dubber’s is our supervisor!

photo 4

Once the drywall was up we could start putting the trim up. Gannon has a lazer level and that came in so handy during this process.

photo 1

photo 5

photo 3

photo 4

Thank goodness Gannon is not mathematically challenged like I am and could figure out the perfect spacing!

photo 1

photo 2

photo 1-17

photo 4-14

After the paneling was all put up all we had to do was caulk and paint!

photo 5-5

photo 1-18

Here are the after pictures!

IMG_7042

After lots of searching I ended up ordering these curtains off overstock.com I was actually really impressed with the quality of them!

IMG_7046

IMG_7051

IMG_7052

These chairs were such a fun little find. There is a store over by 11th and Yale I believe it’s called Midtown Flea Market. Anyway, the store is literally filled from top to bottom with furniture. If you are patient and willing to dig you can find some amazing pieces. I scored all three of these chairs for $80. A little spray paint and new fabric and voila they were done!

IMG_7055

For the ends I really wanted a full fabric chair. I ended up finding these chair’s off worldmarket.com. A few months later I randomly came across these pillows at TJMAXX and they matched the fabric I recovered the chairs with so it was pretty much fate!

IMG_7073

IMG_7067

IMG_7074

This trunk is actually my great grandma’s. Eventually I would like to get a buffet for here but for now it works!

IMG_7072

And of course my little stinker, Winston had to jump in on the picture action πŸ™‚

IMG_7060

Well that’s all for now! Hope you all are having a great weekend!!

Xo,

Kate πŸ™‚

 


5 thoughts on “How to Install Wall Paneling

  1. Always impressed with y’all’s mad Reno skills! I just stained tiny pieces of wood the other weekend and thought I was the DIY queen after that! Haha. Love seeing the house evolve!

Leave a Reply

